Music in the Park

Steve Lehto and John Wright perform during a past River Falls Music in the Park. This year the event is back with a new schedule and a diverse lineup. Submitted photo 

RIVER FALLS — The annual River Falls Music in the Park is returning this year, with a new schedule.

Concerts will be held late afternoon Saturdays and Thursday evenings in Veterans Park June through September.

The time change takes into account other live music in the community, ensuring people don’t have to choose between two options.

Music in the Park has been a part of the community for more than 20 years. This year, coming out of COVID, committee member Jeff Wesley said he hopes the series brings a sense of normalcy to the community.

“There’s just something about live music that’s super special, and being able to offer that especially after most people have been kind of cooped up the last eight months,” he said.

Committee member Tom Bentz said he hopes even more people come out to support the live music.

“It’s very easy in our day-to-day life to take a lot of things for granted, as well as the community, and the things are just there,” he said. “I’m hoping that, as it seemed last year, this year will be even more so that people are grateful for what is in our community.”

This year will feature a larger kickoff and finale show.

“Bring a positive attitude and be ready to enjoy the wonder of live music,” Jeff said.

Who will perform

The season’s lineup offers a diverse range of performances. Get a look at who will be on the Music in the Park stage:

Kick off: Saturday, June 5

  • 2 p.m. -- The Oatmeal Band
  • 3:15 p.m. -- Practical Goods
  • 4:30 p.m. -- Sam DuBoix
  • 5:45 p.m. -- Houseboats

Thursday, June 10

  • 7-9 p.m. -- PK Mayo

Saturday, June 12

  • 4-6 p.m. -- Nici Peper

Thursday, June 17

  • 7-9 p.m. -- New Riverside Ramblers

Saturday, June 19

  • 4-6 p.m. -- Lonesome Dan

Thursday, June 24

  • 7-9 p.m. -- Justin Barts and the Way Out

Saturday, June 26

  • 4-6 p.m. -- Patchouli

Thursday, July 1

  • 7-9 p.m. -- Tommy Bentz Band

Saturday, July 3

  • 4-6 p.m. -- Ari Silver

Thursday, July 8

  • 7-9 p.m. -- Everett Smithson Band

Saturday, July 10

  • 4-6 p.m. -- Chris Silver Band

Thursday, July 15

  • 7-9 p.m. -- Xibaba

Saturday, July 17

  • 4-6 p.m. -- Dan Israel

Thursday, July 22

  • 7-9 p.m. -- RockNTours

Saturday, July 24

  • 4-6 p.m. -- Mike Munson

Thursday, July 29

  • 7-9 p.m. -- High + Rising

Saturday, July 31

  • 4-6 p.m. -- Curtis & Loretta

Thursday, Aug. 5

  • 7-9 p.m. -- Steve Kenny

Saturday, Aug. 7

  • 4-6 p.m. -- Tim Fast

Thursday, Aug. 12

  • 7-9 p.m. -- Galactic Cowboy

Saturday, Aug. 14

  • 4-6 p.m. -- Doug Collins

Thursday, Aug. 19

  • 7-9 p.m. -- Trent Romens & Calico Tango

Saturday, Aug. 21

  • 4-6 p.m. -- Chris Castino

Thursday, Aug. 26

  • 7-9 p.m. -- Flannel Brothers

Saturday, Aug. 28

  • 4-6 p.m. -- Zeb Sears

Finale: Saturday, Sept. 4

  • 2 p.m. -- Dan Rosen
  • Others TBD

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to darkin@orourkemediagroup.com.

Share your opinion

Avatar

Join the conversation

Recommended for you