Weather Forecast


Who will be on the April 2019 ballot?

The deadline has passed and the names are in for those who chose to run for village boards, school boards and city councils across the state on the April 2, 2019 ballot.

Interested candidates had until 5 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 2 to submit papers or declare non-candidacies. However, some townships have yet to hold their caucuses where candidates will be nominated for open positions on town boards, including the town River Falls, which will hold its caucus at 7:30 p.m. Jan. 21.

Information obtained for formalizing the municipal and school candidacies to appear on the ballot shows five races: For town of Troy Supervisor I, River Falls City Council Alderperson District 1, and the positions of town chair, supervisor and town clerk in the town of Pleasant Valley. In the other municipalities, incumbents are largely running unopposed.

Clifton Town Clerk/Treasurer Judy Clement-Lee, a retired River Falls High School civics teacher, is "retiring" for a second time, she said. She has chosen not to seek re-election.

In the town of Martell, Town Clerk Judy Wiff, who was appointed to fill out Janice Swanson's term after Swanson died in an accident, will not seek re-election.

"I was appointed to fill out Janice Swanson's term and am not running in April," said Wiff. "We have not found anyone to run for that position so are hoping to find a write-in candidate."

The names of candidates appearing on ballots this spring (as of Jan. 8, 2019) are:

(* denotes incumbent):

TOWN OF CLIFTON (two-year terms)

Town Board Chair LeRoy Peterson*

Supervisor I John Rohl*

Supervisor II Joe Rohl*

Clerk/Treasurer Jeanne Aws.

Incumbent Clerk/Treasurer Judy Clement-Lee chose not to seek re-election.

TOWN OF KINNICKINNIC (two-year terms)

Town Board Chair Jerry Olson*

Supervisor 1 Axel Bogdan*

Supervisor 2 Dave Nelson*

TOWN OF MARTELL ( two-year terms)

Town Board Chair Brad Taplin*

Supervisor I John Worsing*

Supervisor II Dale R. Olson*

Town Clerk, no nominations

Town Treasurer Heather Sitz*

TOWN OF PLEASANT VALLEY (two-year terms)

Town Board Chair Larry Nolte* and challenger Tom Brunshidle

Two supervisor seats open (top two vote getters take the seats): Kerry Licht*, Robert St. Germain*, challengers Henry Troost and Greg Barlow

Town Clerk Megan Miller*

Town Treasurer Deborah Volkert* and challenger LaRae Miller

CITY OF RIVER FALLS (two-year terms)

Alderperson at Large Diane Odeen*

Alderperson District 1 Sean K. Downing* and challenger Patsy Werwie

Alderperson District 2 Christopher Gagne*

Alderperson District 3 Hal Watson*

RIVER FALLS SCHOOL DISTRICT (two seats, three-year terms)

Amy Halverson*

Mike Thompson*

TOWN OF RIVER FALLS (caucus at 7:30 p.m. Jan. 21, two-year terms)

Town Board Chair Diana G. Smith

Supervisor I John Galgowski

Supervisor II Siri Smith

Town Clerk Ruth Stern 

Town Treasurer Rita Kozak

TOWN OF TROY (two-year terms)

Town Board Chair Dan Pearson*

Supervisor I Suzanne Van Mele* and challenger Jason Kjos

Supervisor 3 Jan Cuccia*

St. Croix County

Circuit Court Judge Branch 2, Edward Vlack* is running unopposed for another six-year term.


The term of Wisconsin Supreme Court Justice Shirley Abrahamson will expire on July 31, 2019. Abrahamson announced that she would not be seeking re-election in May 2018.

Two candidates are running to fill the seat: Appeals Judge Brian Hagedorn and Appeals Chief Judge Lisa Neubauer.

Hagedorn, who announced his candidacy in August, is the former chief legal counsel to former Gov. Scott Walker.

Neubauer announced her candidacy in July. She serves on the District 2 Court of Appeals with Hagedorn.

Court of Appeals Judge District 3 Lisa K. Stark* will run unopposed for another six-year term.

Sarah Nigbor

Sarah J. Nigbor serves as a regional editor for RiverTown Multimedia, a position she began in April 2017. She joined RiverTown Multimedia in October 2013 as a news reporter for the New Richmond News, before being appointed editor of the Pierce County Herald in February 2015. She graduated from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls with a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Spanish and French in 2001. She completed a minor in journalism in 2004. 

(651) 301-7881