Weather Forecast


Highest honor from Trout Unlimited

Submitted photo.

Kiap-TU-Wish chapter member and Hudson resident Kent Johnson was recently awarded the Wisconsin Trout Unlimited "Jeffrey Carlson Volunteer Award" at the WITU state council banquet. This is the highest individual award is given by WITU, to honor the most outstanding TU volunteer contributor in the state.

Johnson, an environmental scientist and a former Kiap-TU-Wish board member, has been instrumental in protection and monitoring of the Kinnickinnic River as well as numerous other cold water streams in western Wisconsin and the Midwest.

Chapter president Kyle Amundson stated, "This is a seldom given award and it is highly distinguishing award for members who have given of themselves for a lifetimes work. Kent's work concerning monitoring on the Kinnickinnic proved to be the vanguard of public input to storm water management for municipalities. Thanks goes out to Kent for all of his hard work over the years."