Weather Forecast


For the 8th time - Freeman named Coach of the Year

Submitted photo.

Eight members of the UW-River Falls men's hockey team have been named to 2012 All-WIAC teams, and Steve Freeman was named the league's Coach of the Year.

Forward Justin Brossman, defenseman George Malliaras and goalie Scott Lewan were all named to the All-WIAC first team. Defenseman Jeff Burke and forwards Adam Cardwell, Alec Hagaman, Geoff Shewmake and Jason Yuel all earned honorable mention. Yuel was also named to the All-Sportsmanship team.

Freeman, who was named the league's Coach of the Year for the eighth time, led the Falcons to the 2012 WIAC Championship with a league record of 8-3-1.

No other coach has won more WIAC Coach of the Year awards than Freeman, who is in his 16th year as head coach at UWRF. He has a 292-145-33 career record and is the WIAC's all-time winningest coach. Freeman has led the Falcons to nine WIAC Championships.

Lewan and Yuel were also named to the All-NCHA first team while Malliaras was named to the All-Rookie Team.

The Falcons finished the year with a 16-9-2 overall record. Besides winning the WIAC Championship, they also tied for second place in the NCHA with a 10-6-2 record.