Weather Forecast


Westlund, Duffy, Kurtz win congressional primaries

By 10:30 p.m. Tuesday, with 64% of precincts reporting, Democrat Kelly Westlund, Ashland, was declared the winner of the Democratic primary for Wisconsin’s Seventh Congressional District and will face incumbent Sean Duffy, Wausau, in the November General Election.

With 88% of the Republican votes, Duffy, who was elected to Congress in 2010, outpolled challenger Don Raihala, Superior, in the GOP primary.

Westlund, a small business owner and former member of the Ashland City Council, defeated Mike Krsiean, an engineer and farmer.

The Seventh Congressional District includes all or parts of 20 northwestern and central Wisconsin counties, including St. Croix County.

Third District

In the Third Congressional District, with 61% of the votes in, Tony Kurtz, Prairie du Chien, was the apparent winner of the Republican three-way primary. The winner will face Democratic incumbent Ron Kind, La Crosse, in November.

As of 10:30 p.m. Kurtz (58% of votes) led Ken Van Duren, Mauston (20%) and Karen L. Mueller, Chippewa Falls (22%).

Kind had no opposition on the Democratic primary ballot.

The Third Congressional District covers much of western and southwestern Wisconsin, including much of Pierce County.

State Senate District 31

In the only area primary for state Legislature, with 65% of precincts reporting, Republican Mel Pittman, a Pierce County dairy farmer, had apparently defeated Bill Ingram, Durand, a retired law enforcement officer, to challenge Democratic incumbent Kathleen Vinehout for the District 31 seat in the Wisconsin Senate.

At 10:30 Pittman had 2,127 votes, and Ingram had 923.

The 31st District includes all or parts of nine counties, including Pierce.

Statewide races

By 10:30 p.m. Democrat Mary Burke was declared the winner of the Democratic primary to challenge Gov. Scott Walker in November. She outpolled Brett Hulsey.

Also on the state level, Susan V. Happ was declared the winner of the Democratic nomination for attorney general.

GOP primary winners are Julian Bradley for secretary of state and Matt Adamczyk for state treasurer.