Weather Forecast


Corrected: Races emerge in six Pierce Co. Board districts; filing deadline extended in three districts

There will be contests in April for six seats on the Pierce County Board. Four of those districts are in the River Falls area.

Because incumbents didn't submit declarations of non-candidacy and didn't file for re-election, the filing deadline has been extended to 5 p.m. Friday, Jan. 6, in Districts 1, 6 and 12, according to County Clerk Jamie Feuerhelm.

Both incumbent Rod Rommel, 406 Parkview Lane, River Falls, and challenger Ruth Wood, 503 E. Walnut St., River Falls, met filing requirements to get their names on the April 3 ballot for the District 4 seat on the board.

Former River Falls mayor Cecil Bjork, 320 W. Church St., filed Tuesday for the District 5 seat. Incumbent Ben Plunkett, 709 Bartosh Lane, who had filed nothing earlier, turned in enough signatures late Tuesday afternoon to make him an official candidate.

Ed Figi, 135 Emory Drive, River Falls, and Scott Bjork, 188 Kinni Court, River Falls, are running in District 7. There is no incumbent in this district.

In District 8, which includes parts of the towns of River Falls and Martell, the candidates are Ramona Gunter, N8246 975th St., and Dean Bergseng, N8820 790th St. Incumbent Tom Sitz had filed a declaration of non-candidacy.

This is the rest of the rundown as of the 5 p.m. Tuesday deadline:

District 1: There is no incumbent in this Prescott district, and no candidates filed. (Even though there is no incumbent living in this district, the deadline extension rule applies.)

District 2: Incumbent LeRoy Peterson, town of Clifton, is the only candidate.

District 3: Incumbent Jon Aubart, River Falls, is running unopposed on the ballot.

District 6: No candidates. There are two incumbents in this River Falls district: Paul Barkla and Cullen Peterson. Barkla filed a notification of non-candidacy, but Peterson filed nothing.

District 9: Incumbent Ken Snow, Spring Valley area, will be unopposed.

District 10: Incumbent Jim Ross, Elmwood, is the only candidate.

District 11: There are two incumbents is this district: Greg Place and Don Rohl. Place, of Ellsworth, completed the nomination process. Rohl, rural Ellsworth, filed nothing.

District 12: No incumbent, and no candidate met the filing deadline. This district includes parts of the village of Ellsworth and the towns of Ellsworth and Martell. (Even though there is no incumbent living in this district, the deadline extension rule applies.)

District 13: Incumbent Dan Reis, rural Ellsworth, is being challenged by Glenn Spiczak, also of rural Ellsworth.

District 14: Incumbent L. Ronald Bartels, Bay City, is the only candidate.

District 15: There are two incumbents in this district: Jerry Kosin, Prescott, and Chip Simones, Prescott. Kosin is an official candidate. Simones filed nothing.

District 16: Incumbent Jeff Holst, town of Diamond Bluff, is the only candidate.

District 17: Incumbent Mel Pittman, Plum City, is being challenged by Oake Gregory, Plum City.

Persons filing for County Board must collect at least 20 nominating signatures from people living in their district.

District lines were redrawn after the 2010 Census. This means some voters will vote in different districts than they did in the last election. Maps of the new Pierce County districts is available in the county clerk's office.

Judy Wiff

Judy Wiff has been regional editor for RiverTown’s Wisconsin newspapers since 1996. She holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism and sociology from UW-River Falls. She has worked as a reporter for several weekly newspapers in Wisconsin.