Weather Forecast


Schachtner defeats Jarchow in special election

Candidates have time to file; some Council races appear contested

The filing deadline for local candidates is approaching -- the end of the workday Wednesday, Jan. 2.

As of Friday, only the two incumbents, Dennis Behnke and Manny Kenney, had registered as candidates for the two openings on the seven-member school board.

On the City Council side, things are a little more interesting.

David Cronk, not up for re-election as an at-large council member, has filed as a District 1 council candidate. That seat is being vacated by Tom Caflisch.

According to City Clerk Lu Ann Hecht, if Cronk wins in District 1, he would give up his at-large council seat. Interested people could apply to finish out the last year of his term.

Mayor Dan Toland would then make the appointment. The council would have to vote on his selection.

Cronk, however, may face opposition in District 1.

Hecht says David Ostness, who already serves as a District 10 St. Croix County Board supervisor, has taken out papers to become a City Council candidate for District 1.

Ostness had not yet collected his signatures or filed paperwork to make his candidacy official.

At-large council incumbent Randy Kusilek has also taken out papers to retain his seat on the council.

Kusilek may have an opponent. Diane Odeen, who ran unsuccessfully in November for the state Assembly seat held by Dean Knudson, has taken out papers and appears poised to challenge Kusilek for his council seat.

District 2 incumbent Jim Nordgren and District 3 incumbent David Reese have filed as candidates. No one has emerged yet to challenge them.

In the town of Troy, Ray Knapp has officially declared he will not run again as Town Board chair.

Dan Pearson, a former Town Board supervisor, has filed to run for the chair position. David Hense, a current Town Board supervisor, has also filed to run for chair.

Town Clerk Jennifer Clark says that incumbent Jan Cuccia has filed again for her Supervisor #3 seat.

The Supervisor #1 seat, now held by Sue Warren, is also open.

In Kinnickinnic, there were no official Town Board candidates -- not yet.

However, according to Town Clerk Lola Higgins, the three incumbents have taken out papers and appear ready to run again.

They are: Town Chairman Roger Van Beek; Supervisor 1 Axel Bogdan; and Supervisor 2 Dave Nelson.

So far no other Kinnickinnic challengers have come forward.