Weather Forecast


Vinehout enters governor-recall race

Kathleen Vinehout, D-Alma, who represents a large portion of Pierce County in the Wisconsin Senate, announced today that she will run for governor in the upcoming recall election.

"We need a fresh start and a new attitude in Wisconsin politics and government," said Vinehout, a former dairy farmer and college professor. "I have the experience and temperament necessary to lead."

She added, "We need a governor who will lead with self-restraint; who will be clear and open about her intentions; who will respect Wisconsin's traditions of good government; who supports and takes pride in our schools; who values the skills workers bring to their jobs.

"We need a governor who wants to solve problems, not score political points. I pledge to be that kind of governor."

Vinehout, 53, was elected to the state Senate five years ago from a largely rural district.

According to her press release, she has advocated affordable health insurance and fair funding of schools.

Vinehout has a background in education, agriculture and health care. She taught health administration for 10 years and spent another decade operating the family dairy farm.

While farming, Vinehout received many quality milk awards and was elected president of the Dairy Herd Improvement Association in Buffalo County.

She lives on the farm with her family. The farm is now certified organic and produces hay and grain.

The district Vinehout was elected to represent (Senate District 31) included the Pierce County townships of Martell, Ellsworth, El Paso, Hartland, Salem, Union, Isabelle and Maiden Rock and the villages of Bay City, Maiden Rock and Plum City.

Following redistricting, which goes into effect this year, District 31 will include these municipalities in Pierce County: the villages of Ellsworth, Spring Valley, Elmwood, Bay City, Maiden Rock and Plum City; the city of Prescott; and the towns of Clifton, Diamond Bluff, El Paso, Ellsworth, Gilman, Hartland, Isabelle, Maiden Rock, Martell, Oak Grove, Rock Elm, Salem, Spring Lake, Trenton, Trimbelle and Union.