Weather Forecast


County Board to remain at 17 supervisors

The Pierce County Board of Supervisors will stay at 17 members for the foreseeable future.

The board approved the request Tuesday. The request came following completion of the U.S. census, done every 10 years, in which county governments are required to redistrict to reflect population shifts which have occurred over time.

Pierce County had 36,804 residents in the 2000 census. According to the State Legislature Redistricting website, the county grew over the last 10 years to 41,019 residents. Sixteen of the 25 municipalities saw growth, led by the City of River Falls, Town of Oak Grove, City of Prescott, Village of Ellsworth and the Town of Clifton. Prescott now has over 4,200 residents, while the Village of Ellsworth grew to 3,284 people.

County Clerk Jamie Feuerhelm explained the projected boundary lines will be drawn out this week and then go in front of the board for approval. Once the county board acts, municipalities will have their say and then send it back to the county. Feuerhelm said the final lines should be done by September.

For more please read the March 30 print version of the Herald.

Jason Schulte

Jason Schulte is a reporter for the New Richmond News since February 2015. Prior to that he spent eight years at the Pierce County Herald in Ellsworth. His duties with the News will include covering news out of Hammond and Roberts along with action from St. Croix County court system. He lives in Roberts. 

(715) 243-7767 x243