Weather Forecast


Pierce county man new member of CVTC board

Two new members joined the Chippewa Valley Technical College (CVTC) Board of Trustees Monday evening.

L. Ronald Bartels of Bay City was appointed as an at-large member and Dan Ostermann of  Tainter in Dunn County was named an employer member. Mona Mathews was re-appointed to a third three-year term on the board.

The board also held election of officers, with Gwen Southard elected chairperson, Mathews vice-chairperson, Colleen Bates secretary, and Jennifer Vogler treasurer.

Bartels is well-known in public affairs in Pierce County, as a four-year member of the Pierce County Board and a 17-year member of the Isabelle Town Board. He has worked in the metal fabrication manufacturing business for 49 years with 33 years at Thomas & Betts in Hager City.

Currently, he owns Sterling Point Enterprises LLC in Hager City. He has been involved in the community in YMCA youth football and the Boy Scouts.

Ostermann has been a senior vice president at BMO Harris Bank in Menomonie since 1993. He has been involved in a number of civic affairs in the area, including the Greater Menomonie Development Corporation, the UW-Stout Foundation and Momentum West as past president. He is a director and past president of the CVTC Foundation Board. Ostermann is a lecturer in Industrial management at UW-Stout.

Mathews, of the Eau Claire County town of Union, is a quality improvement/project manager at the UW Health Clinic in Eau Claire. She has served on the CVTC Board since 2007 and also served on the CVTC Alumni Board from 2000-09.

Each year three members are appointed to the CVTC Board by a committee consisting of the county board chairpersons of the counties in the CVTC district. The board is composed of two employers, two employees, three additional members, one school district administrator and one elected official who holds a state or local office.

Other members of the board currently serving three-year terms are Gary Brummeyer, Menomonie; Judith Kucera, Eau Claire; and Russell Ratsch, Neillsville.

Chippewa Valley Technical College campuses are located in River Falls, Chippewa Falls, Eau Claire, Menomonie, and Neillsville.

CVTC serves an 11-county area in west central Wisconsin. CVTC is part of the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) and is one of 16 WTCS colleges located throughout the state.