Weather Forecast

Thanks to redistricting, St. Croix County is now represented in the Wisconsin Legislature by more assembly members and senators. Five of them participated in the fourth annual Legislative Update, sponsored by the St. Croix County Economic Development Corp. Pictured (left to right) are assembly members Dean Knudson (R-30th District), Stephen Smith (D-75th District), John Murtha (R-29th District) and Warren Petryk (93rd District). State Senator Sheila Harsdorf is pictured at the right. Jeff Holmquist p...

Jobs are job number one

Email News Alerts

For the first time in its four-year history, the St. Croix County Economic Development Corp.'s annual Legislative Update at Wisconsin Indianhead Technical College in New Richmond included some political diversity.


Until this year, St. Croix County was represented by three State Assembly members and one State Senate member, and they've all been Republicans for quite some time.

Get the full story
Subscribe or Log In

Jeff Holmquist
Jeff Holmquist has been managing editor of the New Richmond News since 2004. He holds a bachelor's degree in journalism and business administration from the University of Wisconsin-River Falls. He has previously worked as editor in Wadena, Minn.; Detroit Lakes, Minn.; Hutchinson, Minn.; and Bloomington, Minn. He also was previously owner of the Osceola Sun, Stillwater Courier and Scandia Messenger along with his wife. Together they previously founded and published The Old Times newspaper for antiques and collectibles collectors; and Up!, a Christian magazine of hope and encouragement.
(715) 243-7767 x241